Don’t Alter Your Nature

For the past two weeks I’ve been working on an ad campaign by Jeep called the “Don’t Alter Your Nature Ad Campaign”. The targeted audience of people range from anyone that can drive a car to those who appreciate the outdoors enough that they need a 4×4 vehicle to do the things they love. Jeep has a wide variety of cars, of which are all four-wheel drive. Their message of, “Don’t alter your nature. Be 4×4.” is basically making fun of FWD cars. I find it clever and quite humorous. Throughout the duration of this post, I will discuss and explain my creative thinking process and what I did to re-create a new ad promoting the same message.

Screen Shot 2017-07-15 at 11.49.08 AMThis is Jeep’s original ad. I really like how they utilized their design and creativity to create the image with the horse. It’s a very simple, yet professional ad that portrays a strong message. Screen Shot 2017-07-15 at 11.49.18 AMI’ve done a draw-over for the design of the original ad. The designer used very natural, earth-toned colors. This creates a captivating ad that’s easy to look at, yet very professional and powerful. The lighting and special effects in the image provide a capturing effect and a sense of professionalism. I like how the company’s logo is in the bottom right hand corner. It’s big enough that it draws attention, but it’s not distracting. I feel that the designer was able to utilize all the portions of the image by making sure that there’s no unnecessary white space or large, empty portions of the image. It’s all equally distributed and consistent with the original ad. Screen Shot 2017-07-15 at 11.49.25 AMScreen Shot 2017-07-15 at 11.49.33 AMThe designer used a sans serif font for the message. It’s simple, yet powerful. The text is also complimentary to the Jeep logo. The color of the text is consistent with the color scheme in the ad as it’s a simple, yet natural color. Screen Shot 2017-07-15 at 11.49.41 AMScreen Shot 2017-07-15 at 11.49.50 AMThe main color scheme of this ad are mostly natural, earthy tones. It’s not only consistent with other ads produced by Jeep, but it’s fitting with the theme of this particular ad as it’s focused on the outdoors. I think that if the ad was more bright or whatever, it wouldn’t be as powerful or captivating of an ad. Designers must be very cautious with what color choices and combinations they use because I feel like they can either make or break the message trying to be delivered.Screen Shot 2017-07-15 at 11.49.57 AMScreen Shot 2017-07-15 at 11.50.05 AMAfter a lot of lot and even a pretty rough draft, I was able to create this new ad. I originally tried to recreate the ad using a bear, but then I realized that it wouldn’t work because of how I wanted to stay consistent with the original ad. I then had to use my creativity to think of an animal that was big and strong and had four legs, yet also that had a significant enough tail that I could blend onto the front half of the animal. As you can see, I was successful in doing so with the giraffe. I mostly used the patch tool to get rid of the other half of the body. As for the tail, I actually opened up the image in a new file and used the magnetic lasso tool to single out the part of the tail I needed. It was then blending the two images together to make them look as it does now. I had to adjust the angle of the tail to match the angle of the giraffe’s back. I edited the image so lighten and enhance the colors and hopefully keep them fairly consistent with the original image. As for the text and logo, I decided that it would be best if I put it in the top left-hand corner because I felt like there was some extra space that could be a perfect spot for it. I modified the image slightly, but it’s still the same idea as the logo placement in the original image. Screen Shot 2017-07-15 at 11.50.11 AMScreen Shot 2017-07-15 at 11.50.26 AMI honestly enjoyed this assignment because it helped me essentially put all the pieces together. Everything I’ve learned this semester was able to be put into one design. Below you will find two video presentations. The first is about 4 minutes long and just gives a very brief summary of what I did. The second video is about 10-11 minutes long and it much more detailed.

Leave a Reply

